Partner Profiles

CARILED is implemented by:

FCM-about The Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) has been the national voice of municipal government since 1901. With over 2,000 members, FCM represents the interests of municipalities on policy and program matters that fall within federal jurisdiction. Members include Canada’s largest cities, small urban and rural communities, and 21 provincial and territorial municipal associations. For more information, visit


Partners include:

calga-about The Caribbean Association of Local Government Authorities is a not for profit organization established to facilitate the further development of Local Government within the Caribbean region. CALGA was established in 1992, and was incorporated in 1995. The Association’s membership comprises mainly National Local Government Associations, and, Local Authorities and Ministries responsible for Local Government where there are no National Associations. For more information, visit
cflgm-about The Caribbean Forum of Local Government Ministers (CFLGM) was established in 2004 and its “aim is to strengthen local governance and advance local democracy in the region”.
CLGF-about The Commonwealth Local Government Forum (CLGF) was founded in 1995 as a focus for action on local democracy in the Commonwealth. It works to promote and strengthen democratic local government across the Commonwealth, and to encourage the exchange of good practice to support the development of democratic values and good governance. CLGF is a membership organization and has more than 170 members in 40 countries including ministries of local government, local government associations and individual authorities. For more information visit


caricom-about The Caribbean Community and Common Market (CARICOM) was established by the Treaty of Chaguaramas in 1973. There are 15 Member States and 5 Associate States in CARICOM. The Community is focused on improving standards of living and work; accelerated, co-ordinated and sustained economic development and convergence and enhanced levels of international competitiveness, among other objectives. For more information on CARICOM, visit


oecs-about The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) came into being on June 18th 1981and is now a nine member grouping comprising Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia and St Vincent and the Grenadines. Anguilla and the British Virgin Islands are associate members of the OECS. The OECS is administered by a Central Secretariat and the Islands share a single currency and Supreme Court. See more at


localgovt Currently, CARILED partners with local governance ministries, bodies and associations in 7 Caribbean countries. These include:

Belize Coat of Arms
  • Belize
    • Ministry of Labour, Local Government, Rural Development, NEMO and Immigration and Nationality
    • The Mayors’ Association of Belize
    • DAVCO – District Association of Village Councils / NAVCO – National Association of Village Councils


Belize Coat of Arms
  • Dominica
    • Ministry of Social Services, Family and Gender Affairs
    • Dominica Association of Local Authorities (DALCA)


Grenada Coat of Arms
  • Grenada
    • • Ministry of Carriacou and Petite Martinique Affairs


Guyana Coat of Arms
  • Guyana
    • Ministry of Communities
    • Guyana Association of Municipalities (GAM)


Jamaica Coat of Arms
  • Jamaica
    • Ministry of Local Government and Community Development
    • Jamaica Association of Local Government Authorities (ALGA-J)


Saint Lucia Coat of Arms
  • Saint Lucia
    • Ministry of Social Transformation, Local Government and Community Empowerment


Trinidad and Tobago Coat of Arms
  • Trinidad and Tobago
    • Ministry of Rural Development and Local Government
    • Trinidad and Tobago Association of Local Government Authorities (TTALGA)
    • Ministry of Labour and Small Enterprise Development



Photo Stream